A Stay Against Confusion Essays On Faith And Fiction (Author Signed)

By: Hansen, Ron

Price: $12.97

Quantity: 1 available

Book Condition: Near Fine in Near Fine dust jacket


Signed by Author on Title Page. Black mark on bottom of pages may be remainder mark. Dust Jacket now in Mylar Protective Cover. Beautiful scarce collectors grade copy of this book. In the tradition of Flannery O'Connor and Andre Dubus, A Stay Against Confusion explores the role that religious belief and literature play in one writer's life. All creative writing is, in the words of Robert Frost, "a stay against confusion." It tries to find a harmony and order that we only fleetingly detect beneath the chaos of everyday life, and to point out motivations and causalities in what seem to be random and often meaningless acts. Religion has also functioned in this way for Ron Hansen, and it shares with literature both a reverence for mystery and the use of metaphor to communicate another order that we will never fully perceive or comprehend. In this rich and deeply felt collection of essays, Hansen talks about his novels, his childhood and family, and about such mentors as John Gardner. He explores prayer, stigmata, twentieth-century martyrs, and the Eucharist. A profile of his grandfather, a "tough-as-nails, brook-no-guff Colorado rancher," finds a place alongside a wonderfully informative portrait of Saint Ignatius of Loyola. A brilliant reading of a story by Leo Tolstoy follows an appreciation of the poetry of Gerard Manley Hopkins. A surprisingly intimate book, A Stay Against Confusion brings together the literary and religious impulses that inform the life of one of our most gifted fiction writers.; 1.1 x 8.2 x 6 Inches; 288 pages; Signed by Author

Book Title: A Stay Against Confusion Essays On Faith And Fiction (Author Signed)

Author Name: Hansen, Ron

Categories: Author Signed,

Edition: First Edition; 1st

Publisher: HarperCollins: 2001

ISBN or ASIN Number: 0060196661

ISBN or ASIN Number 13: 9780060196660

Binding (hardback, paperback, etc.): Hardcover

Book Condition: Near Fine in Near Fine dust jacket

Inscription: Signed by Author

Seller ID or SKU: 55963

Keywords: Essays Literature & Fiction Books General AAS Criticism & Theory History & Criticism Classics United States World Literature,